Tuesday’s Tune~ The Person Who Invented Rock and Roll

And it ain’t a dude!

Introducing:

SISTER ROSETTA THARPE- Born March 20, 1915                                                                                                                                                   Passed on to heaven October 9, 1973

Sister Rosetta Tharpe 4

Sister Rosetta early in adult careerSister Rosetta Tharpe 2.jfif

Sister Rosetta Manchester England 1964

Let’s hear a bit, yes?

After that you want to know more about Rosetta don’t you? I know, I know ! When I first learned of Sister Rosetta years ago, I could not get enough. I had to find out everything I possibly could! I mean, previous to that I, like many, I considered the inventor of rock & roll, Chuck Berry – The FATHER of rock and roll. He’s still completely deserving of the title of Father, but inventor? NAH. That title & honor belongs to Sister Rosetta and I believe that Mr. Berry would agree. He often spoke highly of her; how she was an inspiration to him throughout his life and career.

When you have a little time to relax, pour yourself a nice libation – hard or soft-and enjoy this documentary of Rosetta’s life.  Super interesting. Don’t get too comfy though. She will have you out of your seat and dancing in no time! Enjoy.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

